Spirit Awards 2011 – Who Won? We have the List!

The Spirit Awards are here! Celebrating it’s 26th year, these awards honor the best US made independent features of 2010. The awards were held in Santa Monica, California today. The Spirit Awards were a nice casual awards ceremony before the hectic craziness and stress of the Academy Awards being held tomorrow.

So relaxed that if you were there you would witness Paul Rudd squeezing Eva Mendes breast and Rosario Dawson getting him back by grabbing his crouch.


Sadly, I wish the Oscars were that entertaining.

For those of you who missed the Spirit Awards and want to know who won – check out the list below!


BEST DIRECTOR – Darren Aronofsky – Black Swan

BEST FEMALE LEAD – Natalie Portman – Black Swan

BEST MALE LEAD – James Franco – 127 Hours

BEST SUPPORTING FEMALE – Dale Dickey – Winter’s Bone

BEST SUPPORTING MALE – John Hawkes – Winter’s Bone

BEST SCREENPLAY – Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko – The Kids Are All Right


BEST FIRST SCREENPLAY – Tiny Furniture – Lena Dunham

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY – Black Swan – Matthew Libatique

BEST DOCUMENTARY– Exit through the Gift Shop

BEST FOREIGN FILM– The King’s Speech

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD (best feature made for under $500,000) – Daddy Longlegs

SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – Mike Ott – Littlerock

EMERGING PRODUCERS AWARD– Anish Savjani – Meek’s Cutoff

TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD (to an emerging director of non-fiction features) Jeff Malmberg – Marwencol

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD (to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast) – Please Give

Leave a Reply

Comments are closed.